M IS FOR…

download (1)

I’m always interested in learning new words. When I’m reading a story and come across a word that is unfamiliar I get excited. Expanding our vocabulary is one of the best gifts that come from reading.

For today’s post, I’m listing ten unusual words that begin with M which I found from a site called The Phrontistery.

1. Mantology- Fortune Telling

2. Mandament-Command or order

3. Martext- Ignorant Preacher

4. Molochize- To sacrifice

5. Multipotent- Having the power to do many things

6. Mabsoot-Happy

7. Mow- To make a grimace

8. Muchity- Great size or bulk

9. Mulism- obstinate quirk or habit

10. Medius- The middle finger

To view more unusual M words click on the link above. Can you use one of these words in a sentence?

6 Comments

Filed under A to Z, writers, Writing

6 responses to “M IS FOR…

  1. lexacain

    Most of these I didn’t know. I recognized “mabsoot” though. It’s Arabic and does indeed mean happy, but for a guy. Happy for a girl is mabsoota. :)

  2. Maribeth

    Thank you for educating me on the word mabsoot. I love learning new words. :)

  3. Mantology? Martext? Muchity?
    Thank you for adding more words to our vocabularies. I love learning new words. These are really excellent!

  4. What a fun post! I love learning new words and what they mean. Maybe I can stump my son with a few of these. (But I doubt it.)

Leave a Reply

