O IS FOR OBLIGATIONS

OWL

I would love nothing more than to wake up every morning and spend eight hours writing. I would love if writing was my full time job! I want writing to be my full time job. I dream that writing will one day be my full time job.

images (8)

Unfortunately I have obligations that prohibit me from writing full time. Most writers dream the same dream but few of us get to live out the dream. It’s hard to find the time to write for hours when you only have a few hours available.

As an employee, I’m obligated to show up for work. As a wife, I’m obligated to pick up my end of the deal (whether that means cleaning, running errands, making dinner or just being available for my husband.) As a mother, I’m obligated to be there at my children’s beckon call. If they get sick, I must tend to them. If they have a softball/baseball game, it’s my duty to watch from the sidelines and cheer them on.

All of my obligations were also choices. I chose to work full time (only after my husband got laid off and we needed the money). I chose to get married and I chose to become a mother. I have experienced great moments (lots with story potential) because of these choices, but still wish that writing full time was an option.

In addition to the obligations I mentioned, I also have an obligation to myself. I’m obligated to put forth an effort to find the success that I’m looking for. I may not be able to write eight hours a day but I will continue to write everyday in hopes that one day writing will be my only job.

jlennon

Do you write full time? How many hours a day do you set aside to write?

4 Comments

Filed under A to Z, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

4 responses to “O IS FOR OBLIGATIONS

  1. Good for you on writing every day. It’s a bit tough at the moment with A to Z too, isn’t it, but there’s nothing like the feeling of looking back on days and days of small bits of writing, and see them accumulating into something big. Keep on writing!

  2. I write 9 hours a day, alas not fiction – mainly educational resources, blog content for local businesses etc. But one day when my blockbuster comes out…
    The fact you write every day is one step up from those around you, well done!
    Nice to meet and connect through the atozchallenge. http://aimingforapublishingdeal.blogspot.co.uk

    • Maribeth

      Nice to meet you too. I love participating in this challenge because it introduces me to so many wonderful writers. Good Luck with that future blockbuster. :)
      Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you again.

  3. I feel what you’re saying. Life definitely gets in the way of my writing as well. It’s difficult to find time or everything and writing is usually what suffers for me. Unfortunately, I don’t get to write as often as I like, but don’t give up on attempting to make time. The important thing is to keep writing!

Leave a Reply

