On the Hunt

The night I finished my first middle-grade novel will never be forgotten. After years of working, editing, tweaking and perfecting my first novel I was thrilled to say I did it. I wanted to jump out into the waters of the publishing world and hope that someone somewhere would bite at the bait I was dangling.

After two writing courses and lots of constructive criticism I was encouraged to start submitting. My instructor even advised that my novel would probably get picked up quicker than I could imagine. I was psyched that a critically acclaimed author was telling me that my work was good enough to catch someone’s eye. I was hopeful and immediately began sending out queries in hopes of landing an agent. Five rejections later and my hope is diminishing. Don’t get me wrong, I am not a quitter. I will send out a million queries if I have to until I find someone to believe in me. The more rejections, the harder the fight, the sweeter the victory, I have my eyes on the prize and won’t give up until I get it.

I wrote down in my journal-“I must love to write. Why else would I subject myself to constant rejection.”

 

My question tonight is…

How many times were you rejected before you got good news?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “On the Hunt

  1. Hi Maribeth! Love the new blog. It looks great! Half the job of a writer these days is self-promotion and this’ll make it much easier for people to follow your progress.

    I guess it’s fairly normal to start out with a number of rejections. Publishers and agents are very particular about what they want and it’s a matter of finding the right one; rejections are often less about your work than what they’re looking for at the time.

    As far as agents go, they’re looking for something which has an impact and writers who have a consistent output, so presentation is very important. Do you write many short stories as well? You could enter some competitions – if you placed, that’s the kind of thing that helps to get an agent’s attention.

    I’m one of the few writers who’s been quite lucky so far; the first story I had published was accepted on the second go. I’ve had my share of publications and rejections since then, but I’ll never forget the thrill of my first publication. It’s a great feeling. I’ve got the letter in a frame.

    Good luck with your work. I’m sure it’ll find a good home eventually. If you need any help with anything, just let me know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

