Networking

Okay, I officially joined twitter. I am trying to network myself and hook up with fellow writers and anyone else in the industry. I have to admit I feel flushed almost geeky. I really have no idea what I am doing but I am attempting to do something so that counts right?
Twitter looks fun and seems interesting but how do you socialize without looking like a crazy gawker? Do you introduce yourself? It told me to use a unique name when joining. My hands broke out in a sweat my heart pounded and before I could stop myself I was typing YolaRamunno (name is sentimental) and I hit the okay button. Then it occurred to me that maybe I was supposed to use my real name, that would be the point of networking right?
I need help. Anyone with pointers on twitter please reply.

Come on fellow writers help a mama out! I’ll thank you on twitter:)

2 Comments

Filed under middle grade fiction, writers, writing, Writing

2 responses to “Networking

  1. jllong

    Hey there! I’m on twitter too! I used the beginning of one of my email addresses, of course I may be changing it for networking purposes as well. You can go to “settings” and change your username. I just did actually. http://twitter.com/jllong_3

  2. Hi Maribeth! I’ve been using Twitter for about three years now & I think your reaction is quite common; a lot of people are overwhelmed when they first sign up.

    The key to understanding Twitter is to keep an open mind. It can seem silly at first but it’s a lot of fun once you get used to it. The best thing is just to dive in and start tweeting; there’s no one right way. Just write about whatever you want to and you’ll find your way.

    What Twitter is really about is conversation. What you want is to find people who share your interests and follow (friend) them. So if you follow writers, then you’ll be able to talk with them about writing, and over time you’ll get to know them. Basically that’s how Twitter works.

    As for Twitter etiquette, there really isn’t any. Think of it like blogging. If someone writes something you like, post a quick reply; that’s how you’ll get to know them.

    http://www.fluentself.com/blog/stuff/twitter-demystified-the-great-debunking-begins/

    This is a great article that may help you with Twitter as well. It’s one of the best articles I’ve read about Twitter and I’ve learnt a lot from it.

    I’ve become a big Twitter fan; it’s a great tool to express yourself, and to help writers connect and promote themselves. And it’s fun! Once you get the hang of it, I think you’ll enjoy it too.

    If you need any help, just let me know. Hope you’re having a great weekend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

