Remembering the Pain

This past weekend I sat for two hours in the emergency room rocking myself back and forth. I had the worst earache imaginable. There were moments that I truly thought that I could jump out of my skin. Through it all do you know what I was thinking about? I was saying to myself remember this pain because maybe you can incorporate it into something that you write.
Writing is about pulling our life’s experiences into our written work. Even the worst feelings can be written about. I know the pain I experienced these past few days will never be forgotten and for that reason I should make them remembered. Perhaps one of my characters will suffer from a mind blowing earache and they will have an epiphany in the midst of it that changes who they thought they were. Who has had an experience similiar to this? Did one of your characters end up suffering because of it?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Remembering the Pain

  1. I’m sorry you’ve not been well, Maribeth. Earaches are awful. Was it an infection? I hope you’re feeling better now.

    I’ve had a few health issues since I was young and I’ve definitely used those experiences in my writing. Sometimes I’m not even aware I’m doing it but looking back, I can always see the inspiration. I think it makes my work feel more real in some ways.

    Every writer uses something of themselves in their writing and pain is something you can’t write about if you haven’t experienced it yourself. It won’t feel real. I think that’s one reason why writers like Hemingway were so brilliant; they used it to give their writing life.

Leave a Reply

