Try Again

I received another rejection today and I feel misty eyed. I am at a point where I am confused. I have taken two writing courses and had my novel critiqued many many times. I have researched extensively the art of query writing. I have prayed and prayed but nothing seems to be happening.

I am willing to work hard and I accept criticism very well but the reason I am confused is because I don’t know what I am doing wrong.

I thought by taking a course where I had an acclaimed author as an instructor would provide me with an insight on whether or not my story had promise. I walked away from the course feeling warm, cozy and optimistic.

 I sit here today feeling less hopeful but not less determined. Perseverance is necessary in this business. I plan to persevere!

 

2 Comments

Filed under dreaming, Fiction, middle grade fiction, NaNoWriMo, Uncategorized, writers, writing, Writing

2 responses to “Try Again

  1. Are you querying agents or publishers?
    Have you written anything else?
    What kind of platform do you have?

    So, answer these three questions; if you don’t know the answer to any of them, find out.

    Above all, don’t get discouraged. You might not “be doing anything wrong.” It just might not be the right time for this novel.

    Heartbreaking, yes; but take it as a sign to move on and write another one. Put it in a drawer for now.
    Best of luck,

    • Maribeth

      Thanks for a great spirit booster.

      I have two other books in the works right now. I am an optimistic person and that always helps me see the silver lining in every situation. I know one day I will look back and know I had to struggle to appreciate where I end up.

      Hey, I am super psyched right now that anyone even read my blog. That’s a gold star in my book:)

Leave a Reply

