WHAT’S YOUR METHOD?

How do you get into writing mode? Do you throw on a special hat? Do you pour yourself a steaming cup of coffee before you settle down to write?

Every writer has a method. I will be the first to admit that I am a scatter brain. I might only have ten minutes throughout the day to sit at the computer so what I do is rarely consistent.

I can’t listen to music when I write because I find it distracting. But, I love to listen to music and then write. I just can’t do the two at the same time.

I often write with my eyes closed so that I can get a deeper sense of what I am writing about. If I am writing about jumping over a log, I will jump over a pillow that I put in the middle of the floor. I need to experience what I am writing about before I can put it on paper.

My favorite time to write is late at night. It’s my alone time. It’s my time to sit down for more than ten minutes and hammer away at a story that was walking around my mind all day.

Enough about my methods, I want to know more about yours. What sort of things do you do before, during, or after writing?

2 Comments

Filed under books, Fiction, middle grade fiction, Uncategorized, writers, writing, Writing

2 responses to “WHAT’S YOUR METHOD?

  1. lauradroege

    My typical writing method goes something like this: drop child #1 off at school (makes the house a little quieter), go to gym (makes my mind wake up), get child #2 down for a nap (makes the house VERY quiet!), avoid the main computer in our house and go for the laptop(makes it impossible to check email/web because the laptop is not set up for wireless service) and write. I set my timer for an hour and write for that entire hour. By the time the timer beeps, I’m on a roll, and as long as child #2 doesn’t wake up (cross my fingers!) then I can get in another hour. I guess that’s my method!

    I found your blog through Rachelle Gardner’s blog, BTW. Glad I did.

  2. Maribeth

    I have heard the timer thing works great. I have to try it.

Leave a Reply

