Re:Query


If you have queried via e-mail then you are familiar with the title of this post. I usually take a moment before opening these e-mails. My thoughts do a few things simultaneously. First they freeze. Second they bounce back and forth like a ball in a game of ping-pong. I go from thinking possibilities to expecting rejection. Third, my thoughts freeze again. In a millisecond my mood can change. I can go from blah to yee-haw or yee-haw to blah.
A writer learns quickly that waiting is part of the game. Waiting and then receiving a no is never fun but it’s necessary if you want to be able to relate to almost every other writer out there. Sure we hear about the so & so’s who got representation quicker than most of us can type, but they are few and far between.
If you click on that e-mail and the golden ticket awaits you on the other side, woo-hoo for you. If you click on that e-mail and the words read something like this – With much regrets…dust yourself off. Send another query to someone else and know that within waiting there is hope. Hope is what pushes us forward.
I want to know how you feel when you see that reply waiting to be opened.

5 Comments

Filed under books, BUCKET LIST, constructing, contests, creating, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, Giveaway, middle grade fiction, NaNoWriMo, query, rejections, routine, Uncategorized, WISHES, writers, writing, Writing, Writing Contest, Young Adult

5 responses to “Re:Query

  1. “Within waiting is hope.” Nice Phrase!
    I remember that waiting. And now my book is on submission and there is more waiting. And although there are no guarantees, I am hopeful.

  2. Very good question! I never dared open them on my own. If Dave (also a writer) was in the house I would call him into my study. Then I’d open the email and read it out loud and he could commiserate, cheer me along, say ‘they liked you but you’re too unusual’, or ‘You’ll have to write something else, that’s not the right book to query with’. But usually it was ‘who’s next on the list?’

    Having that moral support is so important. A writer really depends on friends and family, whether earthbound or etherbound.

  3. Maribeth

    I’m all about the who’s next on the list attitude. I know eventuallly the person who seems like they would fit with me will.

  4. BTW, Maribeth, there’s a surprise for you on my blog today.

Leave a Reply

