Lightning Strikes

I am bummed! Writing can be rewarding or it can be the pits. There is no worse feeling than feeling like your this close to something and then it ends up to be nothing.

A few weeks ago, I submitted a sample blog to the Writer’s Unboxed blog. They were looking for an unpublished author to become a part of their writing family. I was super excited when I got an e-mail requesting an additional blog sample. I was a contender. I was thrilled. It was a great opportunity that I really wanted to be given.

I just found out that though my submission came Very close they have chosen to go with another author. I am not a sore loser so first I would like to congratulate whom ever it is they chose (this has not been disclosed as of yet). Hooray for you, unknown author. I hope for you that this is the beginning of something big.

I have to come to terms with the fact that it wasn’t my something big. Rejection is lightning that strikes the soul. Tonight my soul feels charred. I am not a quitter. I don’t believe in giving up. A few bolts to the ego has to make me stronger right? Have you ever felt like giving up on writing? What makes you keep going?

8 Comments

Filed under constructing, contests, creating, editing, emotions, Fiction, life, middle grade fiction, rejections, writer's life, writers, writing

8 responses to “Lightning Strikes

  1. Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t get chosen, hon. But don’t worry, that just means you’re meant for something else. Perhaps a novelist’s career? Hmmm? 😉

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Monica, I hope you’re right. I am always telling myself that one day I will be able to say-aah now I see why I didn’t get that, If I got that I wouldn’t have this. Waiting for that one day can be hard, even for an optimist. 🙂
      It will come!

  2. One thing that keeps me going as a writer is that there is always the potential for improvement. Rejection of my first manuscript pushed me to keep writing and do what I could to keep improving. There’s no guarantee that any piece of writing will make it into print. I think the only thing we control is our own effort. So, yeah I do think that the lightning can make one stronger. I like that analogy.

    • Maribeth

      I agree with you Paul. Each time I receive a rejection it pushes me to look further into my writing. I am always trying to improve. Unfortunately, rejection is a huge part of the writer’s life. Despite how many times I get rejected, I keep going back for more. 🙂

  3. Give up on your writing all together? No, no, no. Remember why you write, Maribeth. I hope I’m not being too presumptuous when I assume that you write because you enjoy doing so, because it challenges you, because it provides you with a channel through which you can express yourself.

    I can understand why you’re feeling down (Writer Unboxed is a great blog), but don’t lose focus. If all writers stopped writing because of rejection, the world would be devoid of some of its greatest literature. Hold on to the reason you started writing. Obviously you have talent — it’s just a matter of time until it gets its proper spotlight.

    Keep writing and stay positive 🙂

  4. Maribeth

    Wow, Dominique thanks for that. I don’t think I could ever give up writing, but there are times when the rejections become so overwhelming that it is hard not to feel down.
    I usually am the eternal optimist but once in a while that alter ego pops into my soul and does some serious taunting.
    I truly appreciate your comment. 🙂

  5. Barry J Davis

    First things first your A to the W to the E to the S to the O to the M to the E. God I hope I spelled that right. Anyway. Thats how I feel about you and I havn’t known you that long but I’m sure my opinion will only grow stronger as we hang longer. When it comes to writing and writers my opinion on that subject is we just do what we do. It’s like breathing. Yeah we can hold our breath for a while ( I can hold mine for 2 min.) but sooner or later we gasp and take in that sweet air. Or we die. I don’t know about you M B but that second choice is not an option. I’ll suck in the air. As for rejection. Your talkimg to the king of rejection. Maybe not in writing, only because I havn’t summited poop yet. Thats where you rock. But with ladies, I’ve been rejected more times than Edgar Allen Poe. (check out how many times that poor S.O.B. got rejected before he made it.) Here’s what I do when I get rejected by somthing that haunts me. I concour something I’ve been wanting to concour. Caffine,nicotine,iodine. OK that last one was B.S. but thats what I do. Even if it’s just for 24 hours I beat something. You just keep going. Truth be told, you don’t have a choice.
    Rock on sister christian.

    • Maribeth

      Barry, thanks so much for commenting. Your words of encouragement truly brightened my day. You are A to the W to the E to the S to the O to the M to the E as well. I will keep pushing forward. 🙂

Leave a Reply

