Let Your Senses Do the Talking

Today we are taking a field trip. We will be seeing wonderful places, smelling unforgettable scents, hearing rhapsodies, tasting delicious foods and touching objects that we will later describe.
A writer must use all of their senses in order to create something memorable.
Grab a pen and a notebook and follow me. Step outside, find a comfy place and begin taking it all in.
What my senses are showing me:
Sight: I see a lawn that needs to be mowed. Tiny white flowers sprout from the green blades and dance slowly as the wind blows by. A Weeping Willow sways its droopy branches back and forth like swinging pendulums. A dove is perched upon a rooftop calling out to its mate. Children’s toys rest against a fence waiting to be used. A sidewalk decorated with chalk stretches down the middle of the lengthy yard and the sky above is filled with cumulus clouds that look more comfortable than any chair I have ever sat upon.
Hear: I hear the coo from the dove that is perched above. The echo of his call fills the air and takes me back to childhood days where I thought a dove’s coo was a hoot from an owl. A siren rings in the distance and I can’t help but wonder where the emergency is and if everyone is okay. The wind whips past my ears and sounds like waves from an angry sea crashing against the shore. Children’s laughter from a few houses over brings a smile to my face and a trains’ whistle makes me think of the days I spent with friends walking the railroad tracks.
Feel: I could feel wind rushing past me and it reminds me of the breeze a blanket sends when one shakes it out, preparing to fold it back up. The gust of air is a gift given by the wind on a humid day. I could feel the sturdiness of the wood beneath me and I think about the person who crafted the Adirondack chair I relax in. I poke my finger into the potted plant that hangs above my head. The dry dirt alerts me of the plants thirst.
Smell: The air that rushes past me brings the sweet scent of honeysuckle. The fragrance of a dryer sheet perfumed with clean cotton sneaks out of a neighbor’s window freshening the air. A smoky aroma rises above the trees signaling a nearby BBQ.
Taste: Hazelnut flavored coffee soaks my taste buds and leaves a pleasant aftertaste long after it has been consumed. I let the chocolate from my daily protein bar melt inside my mouth savoring the succulent flavor before allowing it to be gone.

When a writer uses their senses they encourage the reader to experience the scene in which they are writing about. If you take the time to close your eyes when you are hearing, touching, tasting and smelling you will learn that when you open your eyes you will see things that were always there but were never looked at.
Leave a comment telling me what you are Seeing, Feeling, Touching, Hearing and Tasting right now and then take those things and incorporate them into something you are writing.
What senses do you use the most when writing scenes?

1 Comment

Filed under books, constructing, creating, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, Inspirational, life, meme, novel, random, routine, stories, story writing, Style, Voice, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

One response to “Let Your Senses Do the Talking

  1. Ususally sight and sound but lately I’ve been trying to use all of my senses in writing. Thanks so much for sharing this post and reminding us we do in fact have five senses.

Leave a Reply

