I HAVE A THINKING SPOT DO YOU?

As a young girl, my friends and I spent most of our days hidden underneath a Weeping Willow. It was our place. A magical spot obscured from everyone. Under the Willow, we took journeys to different places, shared secrets, stole kisses and expanded our imaginations. Life was never boring as long as we had our tree. As all children do, we eventually grew up and left the Willow but the Willow never left me. When I met my husband I shared my memories with him and would often have him drive me by the tree to reminisce. I knew he was listening but was still surprised when years later I came home to find my very own Weeping Willow in my backyard. It started off small but gradually grew to be as big as the one I sat under as a young girl. Nestled under my tree is a swing where I like to sit and think of journeys, secrets and kisses. My imagination expands when I’m under the tree and I have now declared it my thinking spot. It’s my sacred place where ideas bloom, stories unfold and my journal fills up with future stories that I hope one day others will read.
Every writer whether they are aware of it or not has a thinking spot. A place where they go to plot out a story, create characters and develop scenery. Where is your thinking spot?

2 Comments

Filed under constructing, creating, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, Inspirational, life, meme, middle grade fiction, novel, query, random, stories, story writing, Style, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing, Writing Contest, Young Adult

2 responses to “I HAVE A THINKING SPOT DO YOU?

  1. I love gazing out the window. I did that as a kid, and I do so as an adult.

  2. Maribeth

    Hi Medeia. I absolutely love gazing out the window while driving. I’m definitely okay with road trips and being a passenger.
    Thanks for stopping by,

    Maribeth 🙂

Leave a Reply

