TEN REASONS I WRITE

1. I truly believe I was born to write. I have done many things in my life and held numerous jobs (I currently love my day job) but through it all writing was always a part of what I did.

2. I love to create stories and then look back and think- Did I write that?

3. I want to see my name on a book cover. I want to see what my first book cover will look like (I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to this).

4. I love anything that has to do with words. Words to me are like numbers to a mathematician.

5. It is therapeutic to my soul. When I sit down to write, it’s like taking a mini vacation. Everything and everyone falls to the side. I could find myself on a beach, walking a desert or on the top of a mountain.

6. I’m an observer. Observing without producing is wasteful as far as I’m concerned.

7. I’d like my words to help someone else interpret life in a way they never thought they would.

8. I want my children to be able to have my words to read after I’m taken from their life.

9. It’s exciting. Any emotion I am feeling can be released through writing.

10. If I didn’t write, I wouldn’t be me.

We all have reasons to do what we do. I’m sure many of my reasons are similar to yours but I would still like to hear why you write. Do you have a reason different from the ones I listed?

1 Comment

Filed under audience, books, constructing, contests, creating, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, Inspirational, life, meme, middle grade fiction, novel, query, random, rejections, routine, stories, story writing, Style, Voice, WISHES, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing, Young Adult

One response to “TEN REASONS I WRITE

  1. herby

    I write for all the reasons you listed. And:

    I write because I’m no good at talking about my feelings.

    I write because I want the people I love (and have loved in the past) to know how I am feeling and who I am in my soul.

    I write because it’s my oxygen.

Leave a Reply

