Pass It On: Give a Fellow Author a Shout Out

Today a smile was brought to my face because of a comment from someone I had not met before. Herby, if you are reading my blog consider this a personal shout out and a big “thank you”. Herby stumbled upon my blog and was kind enough to let me know that he liked my material. Herby’s comment not only brought a smile to my face but it got me thinking about something that I have thought about before, but not as in depth as I thought about it today.
If you are a writer then I am almost positive that you have experienced moments of self doubt. Moments where you thought no one was reading what you wrote. Moments when you threw your hands up in the air and said “So be it, I’m writing anyway.” If you write a blog, I’m also pretty sure that you check your traffic on at least a weekly basis. It’s in our nature to be curious to see if whatever it is we have written prompted another to let us know what they thought. If we didn’t hope to connect on some level with others we would have never set up a blog in the first place. (We would just keep our words tucked away in a journal)
I always admire the people’s blogs who get beaucoup comments and wondered if my own would ever receive as many as theirs.
Herby’s comment today made me realize that we all have a way of helping each other become noticed, whether it be by leaving a comment, adding a blog to your blogroll, tweeting on each other’s behalf or simply telling a friend. Someone once told me that 90% of successful advertising comes from word of mouth. I’m not sure if it is quite that much but I am positive that most success stories have something to do with one person telling another then another then another. We as writers have to help each other out and if we happen to stumble upon a blog that catches our attention and then keeps it, it’s the least we can do to let a fellow author know. Why not leave me a comment right now and let me know whose blog you enjoy reading. Together we can increase their traffic.
Today my shout outs go to Elisa over at Where’s My Pencil, she included me as one of her recipients for a Versatile Blogger award (which in return brought traffic to my blog and Herby at Living as Herby for making my day and inspiring this post.

4 Comments

Filed under audience, books, conference, constructing, contests, creating, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, Inspirational, life, middle grade fiction, NaNoWriMo, novel, query, random, rejections, stories, story writing, Style, Uncategorized, WISHES, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing, Writing Contest, Young Adult

4 responses to “Pass It On: Give a Fellow Author a Shout Out

  1. herby

    *blushes profusely* I also enjoy Elissa’s Where’s my Pencil. That’s how I found your blog and I found Elissa’s blog through Natalie’s The Writer Side of Life.

    I highly recommend both those blogs.

    For anyone into poetry, you can’t go past The White Buffalo Woman. She writes some amazingly powerful stuff.

    I’ll be back 🙂 Your work is resonating strongly with me. Thank you for taking the time to write and share your words 😀

  2. hello!This was a really quality blog!
    I come from roma, I was luck to search your blog in bing
    Also I learn a lot in your website really thanks very much i will come daily

  3. Thanks for the shout out. You deserved yours and I was happy to send more people your way. Sorry I don’t comment all the time, but I am reading what you post ;p

  4. I love the little surprises readers bring. I’m glad to be part of the blogging community.

Leave a Reply

