Surrounding Yourself With Inspiration

Yesterday I spent time on my back porch looking out at my yard. The sight of my withering Weeping Willow saddened me. Winter is approaching and the green weepy leaves that I love so much are slowly but surely disappearing for the season. As I dwelled on the soon to be bare tree a realization occurred to me. I surround myself with the very things that inspire me to write. I won’t say I did this consciously because I really do not think I did. I have loved trees for as long as I could remember (Weeping Willows are my favorite). I can go on and on about trees and how you will probably find one in each of my stories (even if it is just a small mention) but I will get back to the point I’m trying to make. I believe that most if not all writers surround themselves with inspiration (whether conscious or not). After coming to my realization, I looked around my house (especially my writing room) and found many items that I have placed throughout my home that inspire me. Here is my list.

1. Trees- I know I already mentioned them, but I have to add them to my list.

2. Quotes- I love any type of plaque or picture that have a quote across it. A quote can inspire me in so many ways. It also can give me that push that I need when I’m having an off day. Some of the quotes that surround me are:

*Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is not path and leave a trail-Ralph Waldo Emerson (Love, Love, Love this quote).

*Home is where your story begins

*The best way to predict the future is to create it

*Even if the voices aren’t real, They have some pretty good ideas (This one makes me smile. I think it’s a great quote for writers).

*Laughter is the music of the heart

*Family, where life begins and love never ends

I stumbled upon the one pictured above(Creativity is a drug I cannot live without by Cecil B. DeMille) today and instantly fell in love with it

3. My writing diplomas. I have two diplomas from The Institute of Children’s Literature. Every time I look at the framed diplomas that hang upon my wall, I am reminded that I have taken steps to better myself and hopefully further my writing career.

4. Photographs: Pictures of family and friends can be very inspiring. If I’m writing a scene that involves friendship, all I have to do is look at a picture of a friend and instantly memories, emotions, and conversations pop up. I especially love the pictures of my father (he passed away two years ago) because I know he was my biggest fan. I can still hear him say “Finish that book Maribeth,” or “Don’t give up honey, you are a good writer.”

5. Books: I was thrilled this year when my husband came home with a beautiful bookshelf. I am inspired for many different reasons by the books that line my shelves. A glance at them can push me to keep writing because I want to see my name on the cover of a book. I also can be inspired by lines in the books that other authors wrote. Most of all they inspire me to keep writing because I know that every one of the authors were once unknown.

I’d love to hear what types of items surround you. Maybe something that inspires you will inspire me as well.

5 Comments

Filed under audience, books, character, character building, constructing, contests, creating, editing, emotions, Inspirational, life, novel, platform building, query, random, rejections, stories, story writing, Style, Uncategorized, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

5 responses to “Surrounding Yourself With Inspiration

  1. Great list. I like nice stationery (even if I don’t use it), sitting on my balcony, and good music. I’m also surrounded by print books and I look through my ereaders to view titles.

    • Maribeth

      Ooh, I love stationary as well. Recently, I have found myself checking out the stationary at any shop I visit.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. herby

    I love your list.

    I am currently transforming my house into a home that inspires me. I’m inspired by colour, photos, tactile things (like soft cushions and blankets), space to lie on the floor, bookshelves filled with books, photos, candles, rocks, flowers and random nick nacks. And, of course, nature – the mother of all my inspiration.

  3. jay jay

    I never thought about it this way but what i have a lot of is things created by other people….i have this statue of a lady thats made of clay that i found on top of someones trashcan while drivng down the rd. I thought why would someone put time into that and then throw it away 🙂 sothere she sits on my shelf….we have a pair of hands making the peace sign carved from wood.??…i have many pictures but my fav frames have the drawings my kids created! also i have fairies in every room which reminds me to deam and i always have fresh flowers in a vase!! 🙂 thanks Mar~

  4. Maribeth

    Jay Jay I love the pieces that you listed. Clearly you are a girl who can find beauty in things that others would not. I love that you have the wooden peace sign statue because I know that you are a Peace, Love, Happiness type of girl.

    I love my Jay Jay (aka Jessica), You are a wonderful mom and friend. You have inspired me more than you will ever know.

    Love ya,

    Mar 🙂

Leave a Reply

