She’ll Be Coming

For the last few months I have waited with bated breath to hear back from my dream agent on whether or not she liked my manuscript and if she would be offering representation. It was a three step process. First, she liked my query and asked to see the first three chapters. I hurriedly sent her the requested material and crossed my fingers. I waited a few months. I was thrilled when the e-mail came and she asked me to forward her the full manuscript. I was so close to having an agent of my own. But, instead of getting an offer I got rejected. It was a very helpful rejection but nonetheless a rejection.

So, here I am back to square one. There has been one song that keeps playing over and over in my mind, it is…

8 Comments

Filed under audience, Book Trailers, character, character building, constructing, contests, creating, critique, critique groups, dreaming, editing, emotions, Fiction, life, middle grade fiction, novel, query, random, rejections, story telling, story writing, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

8 responses to “She’ll Be Coming

  1. Oh, this hurts, and I’m sorry about the rejection. Hopefully you can remember that your work is good enough to get the partial, and good enough to get a full. You just haven’t found *the one*. My fingers are crossed for you on the next agent 😀

  2. I’m sorry. I’ve been there. But keep at it! I was persistent and I can tell you a positive attitude, hard work, and steady querying will get you places.

  3. Keep Going! You’ll only get to your destination if you keep going:)

  4. I am so sorry to hear that Maribeth. I remember getting rejected from Creative Writing Grad School. It was the absolute worst. And I know there is nothing I can say except that the pain will pass and something amazing is going to come up just around the corner. Just wait. I’m serious.

    Hang in there. We’re all here, rooting for you! 🙂

    • Maribeth

      Hi Ollin, thanks for stopping by my blog and giving me words of encouragement. I visited your blog last week. You are extremely talented. Optimism baby right?”)

Leave a Reply

