Rejection

Out of the darkness comes a fist to your face.
Smashing against flesh
Distorting
Mangling
Upsetting
Laughing at your inability to stay fresh
You fall to the ground weak and unable to rise
A leg from somewhere delivers a kick
Smashing your soul
Rattling
Pounding
Destroying
Unsympathetic that you now feel sick
Curled up and sobbing you shield yourself
“No more, no more, please let me be.”
Pleading
Cursing
Screaming
“Why? Why? Why don’t you believe in me?”
You wait for the next impact but it never comes
Peeking out of a bruised eye you scan the room
Alone
Confused
Wasted
The fist uncurls and out stretches a hand
Get up!
Fight Back!
Toughen up!
Rejection stands before you wrapped in dark clothes
Clueless
Crazed
Suspended
Slowly you rise. You are ready to confront
“Why do you hate me what did I do?”
“My child, my child, do you not see? Acceptance without rejection wouldn’t be the same.”
“I am here to make you better not cause you shame.”

3 Comments

Filed under emotions, Fiction, Inspirational, life, rejections, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

3 responses to “Rejection

  1. Sorry you’re hurting:(

  2. This poem is absolutely beautiful! It ends with such hope. Rejection is tough, but those who can persevere will find themselves successful in the end. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Maribeth

      Hi Stephanie, thank you so much for commenting. I wrote this right after receiving a rejection that I was so hoping would be an acceptance. I am always trying to find the bright side in things so I had to end it with hope. I appreciate your kind words.

      Maribeth:)

Leave a Reply

