Nobody Said It Would Be Easy

I am disappointed in myself. When I stumbled upon the a to z blog writing challenge, I was thrilled. It was exactly what I needed for my blog. Immediately I jotted down each post title in my journal. There was nothing going to stop me from completing this challenge. I should have known some bad luck was lurking ready to strike. It was the day of the F challenge. I flipped open my laptop and immediately panicked when all I saw was black. I jiggled the cord of the charger, hoping it was the culprit. Nothing. I pressed my ear to the screen. The motor was running. Remembering this happened to me once before, I turned the laptop upside down and took out the battery and waited. I was sure when I put back the battery everything would be fine. Once again, nothing happened. Hysteria was setting in when I thought about all my documents. I wasn’t sure if I backed them all up. Luckily, I e-mailed myself my middle-grade and Ya novel, the two that mean the absolute world to me.

My husband thought maybe he could connect my laptop to his and get the screen to come up on his computer but I had no such luck. During this time, I came down with Bronchitis (I am convinced I was a hair away from pneumonia). I failed the challenge. There was nothing I could do. I couldn’t type every blog from my phone. It just wasn’t happening.

As of today, I am back up and running. I might not have completed every letter. I still might go back and blog the letters I did miss but for now I will continue from this point on.
I’m dusting myself off. I constantly feel like I am being tested. Like someone somewhere keeps throwing obstacles at me such as rejections, malfunctions, and responsibilities just to see if I will go back to writing. My reply is, throw it at me, no matter what comes my way, I will never stop writing. When I made the decision to write, I knew it wasn’t going to be easy.

1 Comment

Filed under random, story telling, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

One response to “Nobody Said It Would Be Easy

  1. It never is easy! But I do admire your perseverence.

Leave a Reply

