The Forgotten and Undiscovered-A Writer’s Fear

Last week I stumbled upon a few totes filled with my writings from years ago. Discovering my earlier work made me smile and delayed my cleaning (of course, I had to stop what I was doing and read through each and every piece). Most were short stories. There were a few poems (one which I entered into the SCBWI monthly writing contest. I was extremely excited when I got word I placed runner-up), a couple of assignments (back from when I took classes with the ICL), and some scribbled notes for my then incomplete but now complete middle-grade novel.
After reviewing and reflecting on my earlier writings, a realization punched me in the gut. Most of those writings will never see the outside of those totes. They have been sentenced to the world of forgotten and undiscovered.
Sure, one day when I’m wildly famous (it could happen right?) someone might steal those totes and sell the contents for a hefty sum (okay, maybe it’s more likely they will use them to start a fire) but chances are they will remain where they are.
The next day while driving, I thought about how many great pieces of works are out there that will never be read. The thought saddened me immensely. Someone right now can be writing a best seller but because of lack of time, fear, rejection or insecurity it will never become what it could be. Someone might have already wrote a timeless piece but for whatever reason it sits in a desk. If there is one thing that makes me panic, it is the possibility of leaving this world with totes filled of unpublished writings.
What’s your fear when it comes to writing?

3 Comments

Filed under books, life, rejections, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

3 responses to “The Forgotten and Undiscovered-A Writer’s Fear

  1. I don’t feel bad about my unpublished writing because I see it as necessary practice. I feel the sting of rejection but it dissipates and I’m able to put a work away.

    I always have time management on my mind. I always think I’m not putting in enough time writing.

    • Maribeth

      Hey Medeia, thanks for always commenting. I agree I don’t get upset about my unpublished work I just panic thinking what I want to get published never will. But hey time management and writing, that’s a good blog topic. 😉

  2. Writing is an important, yet often overlooked subject that students need to develop. Good communication is vital for the adult world, and developing writing skills can help children learn to express themselves. As they mature, writing offers an opportunity to build grammar and vocabulary skills too, and can help children become more articulate on paper and when speaking. Interesting, fun projects are a good way to help stretch and develop those writing muscles. The more children write, the more they can improve. Their writing comfort level will rise, boosting creativity as well.

Leave a Reply

