Before They Were

b

Every writer dreams of becoming a successful author. I sometimes daydream about being interviewed and asked the question, “What did you do before you became a wildly successful author?”
I thought it would be fun to research what some famous authors did prior to getting their break.
Here’s just a few (In no particular order)

1. J.K. Rowling- was a secretary who daydreamed about a teenage wizard while she was supposed to be working.

2. Suzanne Collins-worked as a writer for the Nickelodeon television shows.

3. Stephen King-was a high school English teacher

4. Mark Twain-was a master riverboat pilot on the Mississippi River

5. E.L.Konigsburg-was a bookkeeper at a meat plant

6. Kate DiCamillo-worked at a book warehouse

7. Ernest Hemingway-was a World War 1 ambulance driver

8. Jodi Piccoult- Edited textbooks and was an eighth grade English teacher

17 Comments

Filed under books, writer's life, writing, Writing

17 responses to “Before They Were

  1. I am taking the challenge for the first time and have just read your A-B posts because I am a writer too. I like your approach to the A-Z and will try and visit again. Thanks for entering. I have named my posts Greening of a Heart. Please take a minute and visit me too.

    • Maribeth

      Hi Stephany thanks for stopping by my blog. Can u send me a link to yours? I’m unable to link to it from your comment. Thanks 🙂

  2. Love your artistic “B” …me before? I was a plant manager in the plastics industry…of course I’m not famous…not even close 🙂

  3. I dream of that question as well. I want so bad to experience the feeling.

    • Maribeth

      Hi Joe. Thanks for stopping by. We have to believe that one day we will be asked that question. I stopped by your blog, it looks great. I’ll be back.

  4. Interesting. I like the B you used on the post too. This is my first time doing the A to Z. My posts are all over the place, not just about writing.

    Sunni

    http://sunni-survivinglife.blogspot.com/

  5. An interesting topic. I might be wrong, but I thought just prior to her success, JKR was working as a teacher? Maybe that was before being a secretary… Anyway, these give hope to us all! 🙂

  6. I guess that shows how humble beginnings have the greatest endings, something we all aspire to obtain. Nice Blogpost!!

  7. Nice post! It’s comforting to know that our idols were once just regular, struggling people like us! We all have a chance to have our own rag to riches stories! 🙂

  8. Great list and interesting, too. It’s always cool to see the humble beginnings of successful people.

  9. Cool list. It would be nice to be asked that question, wouldn’t it? 😀

  10. Interesting, I often daydream too! i think it’s normal if you have a bit of imagination…or I just hope so!

  11. Enjoyed your post. Neat to see what folks did before the became known. Also enjoyed your D post.
    Have a great A-Z
    Margot at A Devotional Mosaic and Spark My Creativity

  12. Thanks so much for this post. There’s a quote somewhere that says something like, “Don’t compare your beginning to someone else’s middle.” In other words, if you’re just getting started, don’t get frustrated because you’re not as popular as the one who’s been doing it forever.

    We all have to start somewhere. Thanks for reminding us that “all” includes even those we greatly admire.

Leave a Reply

