Would You Want To Know?

crystal-ball3

Lately, I’ve been in a funk. I’ve been wondering about my writing career, asking myself if I really think all the dreams I have had for the last decade or so will ever really come true. Most days I’m an optimist, but there are those few days that I sit questioning everything and anything.
I got to thinking, What if someone who sees the future told you they can tell you with absolute certainty if you will ever break through? Would you want to know? Would it make a difference?
What if the answer was no, would you keep writing?
Let’s face it, writers are filled with dreams of the future. The possibilities of what can be are great motivators. Sure, we all write because it’s our passion, our love, our sanity, but a great amount of us write hoping that someday our words will be read by thousands maybe even millions of people.
It would be nice to know for sure if that moment we are waiting for will eventually come. However, I’m not sure I’d want to know for sure.
I write because my soul feels complete when I am putting the pen to the paper. I’m hopeful that my perseverance will pay off. If someone told me my dreams will never come true it would crush me. On the reverse, if they said I will one day be a best-selling author, I might write more furiously so I can get to that point quicker, but still it wouldn’t be the same.
As much as I hate not knowing what will become of me and my words, it’s the not knowing that pushes me forward, keeps me going, and drives me to produce more.
So, if someone with a crystal ball said, “I can tell you if you will find success.” It’s a possibility that I’d say, “Okay, tell me.” but then I might find myself regretting finding out.
How about you? Would you want to know?

6 Comments

Filed under meme, novel, random, rejections, story telling, Uncategorized, writer's life, writers, Writing

6 responses to “Would You Want To Know?

  1. Tim Loftus

    Maribeth,

    I have often had similar thoughts not only about my own writing but about just about every thing I do! Then it all came into focus when I read the following from Sonya Sotomayor, Supreme Court Justice, in her book My Beloved World.

    “But my experience has taught me that you cannot value your dreams according to the odds of their coming true. Their real value is in stirring within us the will to aspire. That will, wherever it finally leads, does at least move you forward. And after a time you may recognize that the proper measure of success is not how much you’ve closed the distance to some far-off goad but the quality of what you’ve done today.”

    So…keep writing.

    Tim (your fan from Massachusetts)

  2. Maribeth

    Aah Tim it made my day seeing a Comment from you. I love what you wrote and now I will keep her words with me when I think about the future. I hope you r doing well:).

  3. I wouldn’t want to know. I used to dream big, huge, so rejection was real crushing. Now I just work hard and submit, submit, submit. Something will catch.

  4. What a great question! Like you (and every other writer on the planet) I go in and out of The Funk. Perhaps it is because so many of our work-life decisions are actually in the hands of other people (agents, editors, whatnot). Lately, I’ve switched my personal focus from “success” (which tends to be other-focused) to “fulfillment.” I get to decide what is fulfilling. And like both Medeia and Tim have already mentioned, I find that my fulfillment is more likely to be based on the hard work (submit, submit, submit) and quality of what I’ve done today. Just write on, Maribeth. Write on!

    • Maribeth

      I like that Medeia. It’s like How some people search for their mate. When they decide they will stop searching they find their true love. We just have to continue putting ourselves out there and eventually the right person will appear. 😉

    • Maribeth

      Hey Barb. I love it! From this point on I will think of the word fulfillment when I’m doing what I love to do. Thanks Barb.):):)

Leave a Reply

