Who Wants Chicken Soup? Blog Giveaway

811

812

813

Today, is a good day. I just received my copies of the newest Chicken Soup for the Soul book -Miraculous Messages from Heaven. I am honored to have a story about my father published among the pages. My father left this world June 8th 2008. I feared his death ever since I was a little girl. I can recall many nights where I crawled onto his lap and started to cry. “Mar, why are you crying?” He would ask. “I don’t want you to die,” I replied. Back then he knew or at least thought that death was a ways off. But, I grew up, he grew old and death came knocking at his door. My father and I talked about death many times on his swing in the backyard. He told me he was excited to see his parents and siblings once he crossed over but it saddened him to know he wouldn’t see his grandchildren anymore.
I feared that I would lose my sanity once he was no longer a part of my every day. I shared my fears with him. I told him, I may seek to find him again through a person with a gift. He laughed and assured me that if he could come through he would. On September 15, 2008 he stayed true to his promise and connected with me and my three sisters when we attended a reading at The Kirby Center with world-renowned Lisa Williams. It was a life changing moment that will stay with me until the day I die.
When I stumbled upon a call for submissions for Chicken Soup for the Soul regarding miraculous messages, I knew I had to submit my story. I sent it and didn’t hear anything so assumed they didn’t accept the story, that was four years ago. A few months ago, I was driving home from work thinking about my writing career when I decided to pray to my dad for help. I prayed that he’d help put me on the map of the writing world. That very day I received a comment on my old blog from D’ette Corona saying she was looking for the Maribeth Graham who submitted a story to Chicken Soup for the Soul. I was speechless! He heard me again.
I believe life is full of small miracles. Open your eyes to the symbolism all around you and you may discover magic.
Today, I’m giving away a copy of the book where you can read my story. Have you ever received a miraculous message from Heaven?
Anyone who comments on this post will be entered to win a free copy of the book.

UPDATE******* I’M LEAVING THE COMMENTS OPENED UNTIL SUNDAY. I WILL ANNOUNCE THE WINNER ON MONDAY!

THANK YOU TO EVERYONE WHO COMMENTED 🙂

16 Comments

Filed under Author Interview, books, Giveaway, writers, Writing

16 responses to “Who Wants Chicken Soup? Blog Giveaway

  1. Congratulations!!! Those miracles just keep rolling in, don’t they?. I remember a day like yours when I was thinking about my writing career in a not-so-happy way. As I tend to do in my lowest moments, I asked for a sign. The next thing I know, a car speeds by me and tucks in between me and the car up ahead. Of course, I was about to get all ticked off until I saw the license plate. On it — “DRM BIG.” So I did… and still do.

    • Maribeth

      Barb, I live for moments like those. We have to believe that we are being heard and guided, it’s faith that keeps a writer writing.

      You have now been entered. Good Luck, and thank you so much for often taking the time to stop by my blog and leave a comment. 🙂

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I never get tired of hearing that story. I receive messages all the time. I’m not exactly sure they’re always from heaven (LOL), but I always try to listen with an open heart and an open mind. It seems like I receive these messages, or am just more aware of them, when I need them the most. Best of luck and KEEP WRITING!

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Nay Nay, You help me become a better writer each day. We will continue on our journey looking for the signs and pointing them out to each other when the other fails to see.

      Thanks for commenting. You are now entered 😉

  3. Andrea

    I remember the exact spot you told me about your father and the meaning of the dimes. Red lobster’s dish room well over 10 years ago. Not the prettiest place but one memory that I have held onto. It gave me chills that day and continues to do so. I often use you as an example when some loses a special person in their life. You words and relationship with your dad is an inspiration and now the world gets to read it. So happy for you.

    • Maribeth

      I am so flattered that you use me as an example when talking to someone who lost a loved one. It’s the hardest thing to endure but magical moments can present themselves if you open your mind to the possibility.
      A few of your stories have stayed with me as well. Your surgery, your road to pregnancy and the birth of your beautiful girl.
      Keep shining!
      You are now entered to win the book. Good Luck! xoxoxo

  4. Kimberly Gush

    I believe…..there are no coincidences..all the tiny voices are God whispering to us….learning to listen is the tough part. Your love for your father is like mine and my greatest fear is the same..how will i possibly be able to live if he is gone.your family has taught me that even though i can’t believe that i will,i will. You all have been a source of strength for me as my daddy and i take this journey…together…day by day….God bless you and yours

    • Maribeth

      Hi Kim, I don’t believe in coincidences either. I remember my father telling me, “Mar, after I’m gone, you will still laugh, you will continue to have cookouts in your backyard, you will be happy, you will never forget me but you will go on without me.” I couldn’t imagine that I’d ever find strength to live without him, my best friend. There has not been one single day in five years that I haven’t thought about him and I believe there will never be a day of my life that he doesn’t visit my thoughts. I hope you don’t have to confront that day anytime soon but know when the day comes you will endure. We will all be here for you!

      You are now entered into the giveaway! Good Luck, send your family my love.

  5. Lesley

    Mar, I feel I get daily messages from my grandparents. Lori and I talk all the time about our experiences and how wonderful they make us feel. Whenever I see a dime, I think of your dad. Congratulations…

    • Maribeth

      Hey Les, I remember you told me a story about your grandmother once. The messages are there, we just have to open our minds to receive them. We have been transitioned to believe that they are wishful thinking or an active imaginations. But, enough of them have happened that I don’t need anyone else to be convinced in order for myself to be convinced.
      I appreciate you stopping by my blog and you are now entered to win the book.
      Good Luck, 🙂

  6. Tim Loftus

    Congratulations. I feel so good for you. Tim

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Tim. You were one of the first people to help me understand the craft and I will never forget that. This is a small step towards a bigger goal. You are now entered. Good luck! Xoxoxo

  7. Congratulations! Isn’t it great to see one’s work and name in print?

    Thanks for the giveaway.

    • Maribeth

      I don’t think it can ever get old (seeing our names in print). Thanks again. One day like you I hope to see my novel published. Good luck,you are now entered! 🙂

  8. Jennifer Segarve

    Congrats to my Maribeth!! So awesome that your story is featured in this! So proud of you!!! Love ya!

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Jen. You have a few of your own stories to tell about your Dad right? I love that u stopped by for the contest. Good luck! Love u too xoxox

Leave a Reply

