Until I’m Old

images

My mind is filled with static
No words will come
No thoughts will surface
All I hear is a hum, hum, hum
Inspiration is far away
I beg, I plead, I pray, pray, pray
I’ve got worlds to write,
Characters to create
This empty mind is robbing me
I sit here and wait, wait, wait

For the tumbleweeds to pass
For the fog to lift
For imagination to return
My thoughts continue to drift, drift, drift
I’ve got places to go, if only in my mind
I’ve got scenes to landscape
I’ve got secrets to find, find, find
Some say writers block does not exist
I say, it does
It kidnaps thoughts. It steals ideas. It erases plans
But, I’m a fighter, a believer, a slayer of beasts
My words will resurface, my stories will be told
I will rescue my thoughts, I will continue to write
Until I’m old, old, old

4 Comments

Filed under NaNoWriMo, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

4 responses to “Until I’m Old

  1. I love this…nice job. Love the picture too. Which one is you and which one is me???

  2. Maribeth

    Lol Nay, it’s definitely what we r going to look like in 40 years.
    It might be us reading about our first published novel hahaha

  3. Me, too. Great poem and I love the matching pic.

Leave a Reply

