JUST KEEP WRITING

images

We all have days where we find ourselves sitting on the couch staring into space while internal conversations run amok.
For me, they go something like this, “What are you doing? You should be writing. The laptop is less than two feet away. Go pick it up!”
I promise the voices I will write in five minutes, right after I check Twitter, Facebook, my e-mail, look through the photos I took over the past month, take a quick nap, make dinner and then what the… it’s time for bed. I hate those days! Why does it sometimes take effort to do the one thing I love to do?
Is it laziness, tiredness, fogginess, stupidity or writer’s block? I think it may be a combination of all of them. But, there is always a little voice off in the distance trying so hard to be heard. It’s a small voice that chants over and over. It’s the voice of Dory (you know, the little blue fish that follows Nemo’s dad) except my Dory isn’t saying Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming. My Dory is singing Just keep writing, just keep writing, just keep writing. Tonight, I found myself sitting on the couch staring into space. I was telling myself I was going to write, but then I did what I often do and picked up my phone and started to check all the sites I spend too much time on when I heard my Dory.
I listened to her tonight, I put down my phone, got off the couch, went and picked up my laptop and began writing. I never feel as good as I do when I am stringing words together. I’m going to keep writing. I hope you do too.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

7 responses to “JUST KEEP WRITING

  1. I get distracted, but I can’t help but write. My characters want to be released.

  2. It’s so easy to ignore that voice when there’s so many things in our lives that call out for our attention. A true writing spirit will always have that voice whispering, or shouting, in the background. I always feel better when I stop and listen to that voice too. Keep writing!!!

    • Maribeth

      The voices keep us moving towards our dreams. If they were silent then we’d be in trouble. 🙂 thanks for stopping by my little writing corner.

  3. I had my distracted day as well, and this post reminds me to get back to work👍😊

Leave a Reply

