IT’S A NEW YEAR, LET’S GET WRITING! MY 500 WORDS: A WRITING CHALLENGE

Happy New Year! I hope this New Year brings luck, prosperity, ideas and days filled of writing.

I have lots of ideas for the blog this year. In addition to author interviews, book giveways and posts focusing on this wonderful craft, I have decided to include more writing exercises and critique giveways. Who doesn’t love a critique? I love to critique and will promise to offer constructive feedback.

Yesterday while blog hopping I stumbled upon Jeff Goins My 500 Words: A Writing Challenge. I signed up and made a promise to myself that I will write 500 words a day for the entire month of January.

I need the discipline and look forward to visiting other writer’s blogs to see how their progress is going.

I’m diving into 2014. I declare my mantra to be- No feeling beats the feeling of accomplishment.

Today, I found a book I purchased years ago when I first started studying the craft. The book, Writer’s First Aid by Kristi Holl offers motivation for writers.

Throughout the month I will be opening the book to a random page.

Today, I smiled when I saw the words Keep Moving on page 65. Kristi encourages writers to tackle unfinished business. She explains how stalling can deplete your energy. (So True!) Her message is a similar message to the one I wrote about a few days ago. You have to get up! Stop procrastinating. Tackle the projects you have allowed to sit. You will feel so much better about yourself.

Come on guys, we can do this. We have to believe in ourselves. Write something right now, in an hour you will be happy you did.

14 Comments

Filed under writer's life, writers, Writing

14 responses to “IT’S A NEW YEAR, LET’S GET WRITING! MY 500 WORDS: A WRITING CHALLENGE

  1. That’s awesome to start the year like that. I want to join What’s Up Wednesday or ROW80 again after I finish submitting works for publication. I want to push myself to increase my word count.

    Happy New Year.

  2. Gede Prama

    I truly enjoy your blog and hope many more stop in to read. Again Congratulations. Gede Prama 🙂

    • Maribeth

      Hi Gede so nice to meet you. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving such a nice comment. I hope you stop by again. Happy Writing!

  3. This is a crazy thing I’ve done–with time over the break I put in a couple of movies and started writing posts and pre-scheduled them–one every four days for the next couple of months! And this before I read your post 😝

  4. Maribeth

    Wow, how awesome and ambitious. I think I might have to borrow that idea one day. It’s like preparing dinners for a month then freezing them. It takes a lot of work that one or two days but pays off so many more days later. I’d love to read a post on that.

    Thanks for commenting me and inspiring me.

  5. Great idea to keep yourself on track with writing this year. Back to business!! I agree that stalling and leaving unfinished work definitely depletes your creative energy. It’s important to stay true to yourself and give time to things that are important to you. I believe that when you do this, you are fulfilled and can give more in other areas of your life. It’s time for the tortoises to make their move and win the race!

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Renee. This is the start to a new chapter in our lives. Im hopeful 2014 will be one to beat. Also, thank you for commenting so often on my oh in 2013 you were the one of the to two commenters. :):):)

      • Maribeth

        That’s what happens when u post a comment from your phone. Lots of mistakes. Renee what I meant to say is thanks for commenting so often on my blog in 2013. You were one of the ones who commented the most. Thanks again!

  6. OK. I’m with you. 500 words a day it is….and since I haven’t done 500 words every day, I’ll make it up by doing 700 words a day! Lets go!

Leave a Reply

