APPLES IN LITERATURE

Today is the first day of the A to Z challenge. I thought I’d write about Apples in Literature. If you are a blogger participating in this challenge, drop me a line and let me know where I can find your blog.

images (4)

According to Wikipedia, the apple is known to symbolize knowledge, immortality, temptation, the fall of man and sin. We have all heard of Adam and Eve being tempted by the forbidden fruit which man determined to be an apple. Since the story of Adam and Eve the apple has popped up in many stories in literature. For my first A-to Z post I have collected some stories where apples showed up. Are there any that I missed that you would like to include?

The Story of Adam and Eve– In the Book of Genesis we are told that Adam and Eve were tempted by the serpent (Devil) to eat the fruit from the forbidden tree. It started with the serpent tempting Eve who took the first bite and later convinced Adam to eat the fruit. Because of their actions (disobeying God) they were banished from Eden and man would be made mortal. Of course this is my summary of the story so please don’t chastise me for not writing the complete history of Adam and Eve.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs-Snow White is beautiful and kind and everything about her upsets the wicked queen who also happens to be Snow White’s step mother. The queen especially hates when her magic mirror tells her that Snow White is the fairest of all. The queen’s jealousy for Snow White consumes her and she orders a huntsman to chase Snow White into the woods and kill her. The huntsman can’t do what is asked and instead warns Snow White and urges her to hide in the woods. I think we all know what happens next, she meets seven dwarfs who do their best to hide her. For a while all is good but eventually the witch finds out she is alive and devises a plan to get rid of her for good. She makes a poison apple, dresses up like an old lady and offers Snow White the shiny delicious looking apple. Snow takes a bite and immediately falls into a deep sleep. All looks hopeless until her true love kisses her and she awakes.

Paris and the Apple (Greek Mythology) When the Goddess of discord found out she was not invited to the wedding of Peleus and Thetis she felt snubbed. Her means of revenge was to throw a golden apple onto the table at the wedding reception with the inscription To the most fairest. Three goddesses saw this and fought over who was the fairest. They took their argument to Zeus who handed over the decision to Paris. Each woman promised Paris things if they were chosen. In the end he chose Aphrodite a decision that was said to cause the Trojan War.

Other places the apple made an appearance are –Twilight (on the cover and in the lunch room scene, Bella rolls the apple-perhaps it was symbolic of being tempted by Edward) , Johnny Appleseed, and The Nancy Drew Notebooks (The Apple Bandit).

If an apple a day is said to keep the doctor away then why have so many bad things come from taking a bite from one? 

9 Comments

Filed under A to Z, writer's life, writers, writing, Writing

9 responses to “APPLES IN LITERATURE

  1. Can’t wait to see what B is! I love the A-Z challenge as well for all the reasons you stated. What helps me make it to Z? I pre-write a week’s worth in a day so I can just post them when it’s time. Much easier than doing it day by day (which can seem like an anchor–to use an A word!). I’ll be stopping by periodically to see what you’re posting.

    • Maribeth

      What a great strategy. I did think about doing that it definitely would make this challenge easier. I wrote this post two days ago so I guess for once I did give myself a head start. Let’s see if I keep it up. I am so excited to see everyone’s A to Z topic. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. theegetawaygal

    Hi! Found your blog through the A to Z Challenge and love your first post. I loved the story of Paris and the Apple and had never heard that before. I find it funny that apples are always associated with evil when really they are so good for you. 🙂 Good Luck with the challenge. You can find my blog at http://theegetawaygal.com

  3. Love what you’ve done with your “A” post. Interesting thoughts on the negative symbolism of apples used in literature. Can’t wait to see “B.

  4. Interesting. I’ve noticed apples in literature, and it’s great you highlighted the fruit and what it has symbolized.

  5. I never knew the one about Paris and the apple!
    Intriguing why the apple has been the chosen fruit to bring about so much negativity…! Thank you for the read!
    Her’s mine!
    http://anj-lifeexperiences.blogspot.in/

    • Maribeth

      Thanks Anjana, I can’t figure out how to comment on your blog but I have been visiting. Your C post is chilling. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. Never heard of Paris and the Apple, very cool!

Leave a Reply

