FUN FACTS ABOUT SOME WELL-KNOWN AUTHORS

f

It’s always fun to discover facts about authors. It’s neat to learn that they have hobbies other than writing or that they too knocked on many doors before finding the one that opened. Today, I’ve compiled a list of some fun facts about a few of my favorite authors. Do you have any author facts that you would like to share?

guy

S.E. Hinton: (The Outsiders, Rumble Fish, Tex etc.): Was born Susie Eloise Hinton. She chose to use her initials because she didn’t want people to know she was a woman. It’s also said that she didn’t want boys to be put off by a female author.

Stephen King and Mitch Albom: (are in a band together with a few other famous authors. Their band is called The Rock Bottom Remainders.)

Ray Bradbury:
Didn’t consider himself a science-fiction author. He believed he was more of a fantasy writer.

Roald Dahl and Ernest Hemingway were friends

Edgar Allen Poe: Enjoyed attending his local book club

Suzanne Collins: Worked at Nickelodeon and wrote stories for shows such as Oswald and Little Bear

Charles Dickens: Was a member of The Ghost Club

I loved collecting these facts, some I already knew but other’s surprised me, how about you?

8 Comments

Filed under A to Z, authors, writers, Writing

8 responses to “FUN FACTS ABOUT SOME WELL-KNOWN AUTHORS

  1. J. L. Lincicome

    I love reading about famous authors before they were famous. It’s a great way to connect with them, and give me hope at the same time 🙂

  2. Popping over form AtoZ. I love learning about authors and their lives. Harvard Business Review has a fantastic article I read earlier about the daily lives of creative geniuses. More to feed the curiosity!

  3. I love S.E. Hinton’s, Suzanne Collins’, and Stephen King’s books. What surprising facts, especially Stephen King’s. Ahah! Awesome post!

    Please visit my blog, http://thatgirlybookworm.blogspot.ca/ my theme is on books and every A-Z day, I choose a book with a title that starts with that letter. 🙂 Thank you!

  4. Eieieie I love the Rock Bottom Remainders! 😀 great post, so interesting!

  5. What a great post! It’s so interesting to get a sneak peek into the lives of some of my favorite writers. How fun!

Leave a Reply

